what would be similar to a 40 HP

joe_morgan

Seaman
Hi All, I have been canvasing these forums for months now and its occurred to me that I might be able to get more from these some of articles if I knew what other motors were similar in design to mine. I have a 1975 40hp evinrude. So I image a motor from late 60's from 25hp through to 50hp may be similar.<br /><br />Cheers<br />Joe

joe_morgan

Seaman
Re: what would be similar to a 40 HP

hey I just realised, I'm a seaman apprentice.<br />I must have missed the ceremony.<br />Joe

Mark42

Fleet Admiral

That same twin cylinder was carried all the way through into the 90's. I think Johnson still had the same 45 cid twin in 2002.<br /><br />They are basically the same with minor differences in reed plate design, carbs, exhaust ports and piston tops. <br /><br />Lots of parts are interchangeable, some are not. Doesn't hurt to read about them.<br /><br />Congrats on the promotion.

fireman57

Captain

We were all there but wondered where you were. If it matters we all had a good time.

WillyBWright

Fleet Admiral

Too bad you missed the party, Joe. Strippers, gambling, beer til I puked. God, it was Beatuiful! ;)

McGR

Senior Chief Petty Officer