87 60 HP Evenrude Grinding going into reverse

Hello all: I have a 87 60 HP Evenrude that when pulling back into reverse it is grinding and won't go. I am new to boating and was wondering if anyone could help with this problem<br />Thanks and happy floating<br />kevin_clockman

The Marine Doctor

Commander
Re: 87 60 HP Evenrude Grinding going into reverse

Shifter cable is likely out of adjustment. When you try to access the forward gear, how far do you have to push the shifter? Does it engage almost immediately? How is the travel in relation to the travel to get Rev?<br /><br />TMD

Hooty

Rear Admiral

One more thing. When shifting into gear, don't just ease it in, slam it in with authority. The grinding you hear is the clutch dogs and it's real tuff on 'um.<br /><br />c/6<br />Hooty

Sorry for my next post I just found where to check for answers. When you put it in forward it goes about 1/16" then will take. When you put it in reverse it acts like it wants to go but jumps back out and the shifter is almost all of the way back Kevin_clockman

Hooty

Rear Admiral

It's like the MD said, sounds like the shift cable is out of adjustment. If you want to confirm that, disconnect the shift cable from the shift arm, at the engine, and then shift into reverse using the shift arm. If it shifts ok like that, the cable needs adjusting or replacing.<br /><br />c/6<br />Hooty

ob

Admiral