55 hp johnson

mufdyvr002

Cadet
i have a 55 hp johnson with the hydro-electric shift. i do not have any idea what year it might be. is there any way to find out through the model number and serial number? it has been sitting for a long time in a warehouse. it looks pretty clean but i cant turn the flywheel with my hands. what should i look for with these conditions. thanks a bunch.

D

DJ

Re: 55 hp johnson

fefu,<br /><br />Unless you are REALLY mechanically inclined-keep looking.<br /><br />The Electric shift models could be troublesome.<br /><br />Seeing that you can't turn it over by hand, that's not a good sign. <br /><br />On the other hand, if you can get it for free, you can probably sell the lower unit on e-bay for a hundred bucks or so.

mufdyvr002

Cadet

i i'm scared. i'm an auto tech so any work on this motor sould not be a problem.what i need to know is how to read the serial number. this way i can get the right manual. thanks again.

D

DJ

fefu,<br /><br />Look on the clamp bracket. There should be a metal tag with the serial and model numbers.<br /><br />If not, remove the cowl (hood) and look at the engine for a core (freeze) plug. Sometimes the numbers are stamped on one of them.

mufdyvr002

Cadet

the model number is 55esl69a. and the serial number is j3011997. thanks again.

mufdyvr002

Cadet

is that good and where can i get a repair manual and parts book for it. thanks again for all the help.

mufdyvr002

Cadet

i guess this means that there is no way for me to get any manuals for this motor. by the way, how did you come up with a 1969? thanks.

ledgefinder

Ensign