Evinrude Ficht 150-Clocking spark plugs?

FNG

Seaman Apprentice
2001 Evinrude 150 Ficht. Picked up my boat after having it winterized. Dealer charged me $250 for procedure then told me I have to bring it back in the spring to get new spark plugs put in. Another $100. I asked to buy them myself and I would install after running it up burning out the Fogging oil. They went on to tell me that the plugs have to be clocked so that the electrode points away from the injector or the plugs foul out prematurely and can cause pre-ignition burning holes in pistons. Is this for real? They told me it took OMC a few years to figure this out and was/is one of the major problems people experience. Problem solved by clocking the plugs. Can somebody confirm this, or is the dealer just looking for another $100 while charging $10 a plug. I am an X-auto technician. I can certainly install some plugs for less than $100. They told me you need to buy 7 plugs assuming you'll end up needing the 7th to find the right hole it fits in with the electrode pointing in the right direction. The extra labor charge was due to the time incurred swapping plugs around to find the best hole for each. Anybody heard of this before? :mad:

Fouled Plug

Ensign
Re: Evinrude Ficht 150-Clocking spark plugs?

I can't say if it's necessary on that motor, but it would be far cheaper to buy yourself a set of indexing washers from a performance automotive outlet like Summit and do it yourself. Use a magic marker to indicate which way the electrode points on your plug, and install it to see how it lines up. Again, is it really a must on your engine? Don't know, but it can be done for less than your dealer wants.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus