1985 9.9 Johnson with leaky grommet

M. L. Burris

Recruit
what a site. great info here. my first post so here goes...my 85 9.9 johnson had cooling problems so i replaced the impeller, impeller housing and thermostat. i also noticed that when the lower unit was disconnected that if i put water back up the copper tube that runs from the water pump that water leaks down from the top of the tube where it goes into the powerhead. in addition, after reassembly when motor reaches temperature and thermostat opens the water does not stream out, but instead inconsistently spits out. it's not a very good flow at all. is this a bad grommet under the powerhead and will a new one remedy this problem? i have limited outboard repair experience so is this too much for me to tackle? will i need any special tools? i just hate to take it to a shop if i can do the work because of the extra cost. thanks for any help.

sloopy

Commander
Re: 1985 9.9 Johnson with leaky grommet

a little bit of plumbers buddy and/or some of handymans best friend (duct tape) should fix that problem!!! you might also want to clear the lines out there might br some stuff stuck in them.

clanton

Rear Admiral

You have to remove the power head to replace the water tube grommet

Reel Appeal

Chief Petty Officer

M.L.,<br /> If your motor has a "pee" tube(I think it does,not sure).Check where the water exits from the motor(where it's dribbling out).Remove the hood and find the rubber(pee)hose inside at the back.It should be connected to a plastic fitting which snaps into the lower cowling of the motor.The inside diameter of that fitting is smaller than the tube diameter and is prone to clogging with silt/sand.Remove the tube from the fitting and clear any obstructions with a straightened paper clip.Check this first,it's simple. ;)

M. L. Burris

Recruit