Shore Power problem

I attached my shore power cable on my 1994 Larson 240 and have verified that I am getting 120volts at an outlet by using a voltmeter, however as soon as I plug a simple household fan into that outlet and switch it on, the main AC breaker throws . This applies with any other items within the boat (refrigerator, battery charger). <br />Is it likely that I have a bad main breaker? And could I verify that by bypassing the main breaker and wiring directly to the indiviual outlet breaker switch?<br />I am a novice when it comes to electricity.<br />Any and all help will be greatly appreciated

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: Shore Power problem

ARRRRGGGG!!!! You never, ever want to bypass a protective device unless you are hell bent on burning your boat to the water line. Just so I understand the problem -- you say the main breaker trips. The main breaker turns off all AC within the boat. Individual breakers protect the various circuits. So which is it? The main breaker, or the breaker that protects the just the outlets you are attempting to use. The first thing to do is make sure the shore power is wired properly at its source. Reversed polarity and lack of or improper grounding can kill you so make darned sure you understand the consequenses. If shore power is wired and grounded properly, turn your attention to the boat. Circuit breakers do derate each time they are cycled so what was a 20A at one time may now trip at 15A. That alone will not create a problem for a fan but it could for higher current draw items. Do you have a big inverter or battery charger on that circuit?? If the circuit is not overloaded, it has to be either a wiring issue or a weak breaker. At most home improvement centers (electrical dept) you can buy a three prong plug with three LEDs in it for testing circuit wiring and grounding/reversals. Just a couple of bucks. Keep us posted.