Battery Charging Ideas

Gamonman

Cadet
I'm new to all of this and I'm wanting to know how to keep a charge on a trolling motor battery. <br /><br /> -Is there a way to charge it off of the outboard motor?<br /><br /> -How long will can you use a trolling motor on average before the battery runs out?<br /><br /> -Does anyone ever wire the battery to be charged by the towing vehicle while in transit?<br /><br /> I'm just afraid of running out of juice, I guess, and ruining the fun. :( Plus it would be nice to not worry about charging it when I get home. Thanks for any help.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Battery Charging Ideas

Howdy, Gamonman.<br /><br />Welcome to iboats. :) <br /><br />- Yes, if the motor has an alternator. What engine do you have?<br /><br />- As long as it takes your troller to use up the amp-hours of your battery. What troller and what battery do you have?<br /><br />- Yes, some people wire the trailer harness to charge the boat battery while under tow.<br /><br />Good luck. :)

gonefishie

Commander

check out raystackle.com, they have a system for charging off your truck and doesn't cost a lots.

Boatist

Rear Admiral