Volvo AQ 125 A

central2003

Recruit
I recently purchased a 1982 Bayliner with a Volvo AQ 125 A Motor. The boat was winterized before it was put away 2 years ago, but we are having trouble getting it to start. The starter will turn over fine, it is getting enough fuel, and it has plenty of spark. The only thing we can think of is that the timing is off. Does anyone have any helpful advice. I have already replaced the plugs, wires, new Dist Cap(expensive). I am only a beginner wrench turner so any easy solutions would be great. Thanks!

central2003

Recruit
Re: Volvo AQ 125 A

The one other thing I didn't mention is that it will backfire every once in a while, and that is why we think it is the timing, or the firing order that is off.

Dunaruna

Admiral

Hi central, welcome to iboats!!<br /><br />Firing order is 1342. <br /><br />Another thing to check is the cam timing, need to check the timing belt.

mcleaves

Chief Petty Officer

Those belts jump teeth pretty easy so get the belt lined up.<br /><br />Also, get some new points in there as well and then set the dwell EXACTLY. I forget the numbers. These engines are REALLY fickle with dwell and timing. Doesn't take much to have it be off..<br /><br />Once you get it running it's a bullet proof engine<br /><br />M

mcleaves

Chief Petty Officer

Another post reminded me of this... Make sure your rotation direction is correct on the firing order. The aftermarket manuals have it wrong in places.<br /><br />Just in case you are using one of those.. Don't ask me how I know :).

central2003

Recruit

Does anyone know of a webpage that has a diagram or some help on how to get to the timing belt on this engine? I am having trouble getting to the belt to check and see if it is off. Any help would be great. I am more and more stumped on this engine.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus