'85 OMC 3.0L/Stringer Jumps in/out of gear

OMCman

Recruit
Hi, This is my first time on this BB and you seem to know what you are talking about. I was wondering if you know if this WWW.funkopolis site is still in existance? Many people seem to reference it and I have ESA and distributor problems with my '85 OMC 3.0L/Stringer and need to find shift cable/switch adj. diagrams and instructions and info on converting to elect. ignition using ESA. My main problem is that the drive seems to jump in and out of gear at any RPMs above 2000. Very random, mainly under load and about every 100 yards or so. My Seloc service manual does not address these items. I would appreciate any guidance... Thanks!

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: '85 OMC 3.0L/Stringer Jumps in/out of gear

You have a dog type clutch used for shifting. Rather it's OMC, Cobra or Stringer, or Merc Alpha, when they jump out of gear that often, the gear and the clutch dogs are rounded and need replaced. Then you have to locate why they rounded. Shift cables out of adjustment, corrosion, whatever, so it doesn't happen again.<br />The funkopolis site is his old URL, his new one is below, but it is dedicated to the Cobra drives and nothing there about the stringers.<br /><br /> http://www.hastings.org/~stuart/cobra/index.html

KaGee

Admiral