hit a shoal or something, still vibrating after prop replacement

cruleman

Recruit
Well, cruising along the other day and "wham" I nailed something 20 feet off the shore in a lake. One of the three prop fins was damaged pretty good, looked like the edge was folded over. I got a hustler prop and installed it. Back on the lake I still get some vibration under power. I have a Bayliner 205 '03 model. Alpha 1 Mercruiser. Im figuring that the driveshaft is bent. I figured that its happened to others as well. I am fairly skilled at gear replacement and was wondering if there was an easy way to check the shaft before tearing it apart. Does anyone know where to get some good reference materials on repair and replacement? Any advise? I am pretty new to ther boating scene and am learning as I go on this stuff. Any help would be great.<br /><br />I also just started it in the driveway with the hose hooked up. I dont see the shaft vibrating, but I do see the entire lower unit can "wiggle" from side to side a little bit. Not sure if that is normal

Haut Medoc

Supreme Mariner
Re: hit a shoal or something, still vibrating after prop replacement

Welcome to iboats :) You most likely bent the prop shaft. Just because you can't see that it is bent doesn't mean that it isn't. The tolerence is something like .005, not alot. Get a mercruiser manual for your drive, don't waste time with a Seloc or Clymer's. I would recommend you take it to a pro. A little 'wiggle' is normal.......Try tightening the two nuts on top of transom assy. to 25# and see if this helps 'wiggle'.......JK

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

For future reference, you have an Alpha I Gen II drive, not just an Alpha I.<br />Here is an online Mercruiser manual. Just run your cursor over the cover page and the index page to find the links to different sections.<br /><br /> http://www.boatfix.com/merc/Servmanl/14/14cover.pdf

searay3

Senior Chief Petty Officer