newbie again -- how do you change the oil in boats

alilley

Petty Officer 1st Class
i am not trying to start another oil thread as there are plenty of them on here i have dug and dug and cant seem to find anyting on how to change the oil in a boat i have done it on cars trucks big trucks 4 wheels and bikes but i am new to boats and have 1988 sunchaser 1702 with a 3.0 mercruiser and alpha 1 and need to change the oil in it before putting it on the water this weekend i have looked for a drain plug but cant seem to find oneany help here would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance

Simoniz

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: newbie again -- how do you change the oil in boats

Theres definitely a drain plug. From memory I think its at the rear of the sump on the left hand side (looking forward).

Depends on how much room you have under the engine but I managed to cut a 4 x 6 inch hole in the side of a 5 litre plastic oil can and can still manouevre the can out without spilling any oil (try a dry run first).

If you cant get any sort of receptacle under there to drain the oil into you either have to use a pump and suck the old oil out of the dipstick tube or drain the oil into the bilge and then allow it to drain out of the bilge through the bilge drain hole (and then wipe up the dreadful mess in the bilge afterwards.

alilley

Petty Officer 1st Class

great thanks i should be able to get under that motor with no problem and even if i have to drain it into the bilge area then that is what simple grean or super clean my casteral is for eith one works great on on cleaning and removing oil and many thanks again

If it fits you can cut a square hole in the wide side of a 1-gal antifreeze container. It is nice and flat but you will have to plug the oil a couple of times to empty the container, if you fill it completely it will probably spill when you try pulling it out.