Newbie with 1989 Baja 190ES project...Updated with Pics

TJS

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hi everybody. As you can see this is my first post. I am not a newbie to boating though. Just a little new to Mercruiser I/O stuff. I have a Jet boat (BBC 8-71 Blower and EFI) which is my hot rod boat. The wife and I decided we need something just to cruise, tube and ski on. So I picked up a 1989 Baja es190 for 2k with shoreline trailer. The engine is a 4.3 v-6 that is sized, with an Alpha One outdrive.

Here is what I did so far and what it needs. Pulled the motor and outdrive on Sunday and took the heads off. Found mouse houses everywhere in the exhaust manifolds. Found mouse nests in the cylinder bores too. The previous owner poured about a gallon of marvel mystery oil and the bores were full of mouse poop/nests and surly of the MM oil.
Found #2 piston in really bad shape. It was corroded. I don?t think I am going to spend any more time on this engine because it looks as if #2 has some serious pitting in the wall and one maybe leaked water into the bore. I did not feel like poking at it anymore.

My old man has a Mercruiser 350 he took out of some guys formula years back when he helped him repower it. Now I just hope that is in better shape than the V-6. The V-6 is just a small block chevy with 2 cylinders cut off of it, so everything on the front dress and mounts will work. I know the V-6 Alpha has a different ratio but the owner stated the original one was stolen and he had the outdrive replaced. I need to go thru this as well to see what the gearing really is. Once I get the engine situation straightened out this is my plan.