1991 88hp engine teardown

i have never done this before so i will be asking lots of questions as i go.
i`v`e removed carbs ,starter,coil flywheel, lower unit linkage etc.
in the beginning i had compression issues and found the top of a piston banged up good and the cylinder scored a bit along with the headed had taken a beating from the broken rings.
first question: is it straight forward as it looks to get the whole block off now from the bottom bolts under the cowling.
second question :to get the cylinders redone do i have to remove the exhaust cover etc.
Third question : the manual says you don`t have to oversize all the pistons is this ok.
Forth question: the top of the head got banged up does it have to be replaced or just cleaned up.
Thanks in advance if any brave soles would like to guide me through this.

bob johnson

Rear Admiral
Re: 1991 88hp engine teardown

I ahve heard you want a smooth consistant surface in the head, so you dont have the chance for a hot spot to develop..I took my buddies motor apart and it has parts of steel embedded in the aluminum head....that would be bad to run like that!!!

for the 25-50 dollars for a head...get another...

I just took a seemingly well preserved 1997 motor apart!!!

I broke off two of the small bolts that hold the power head on and the 6 big bolts were a nightmare getting off.....if i didnt have an electric impact gun...id still be there unscrewing them...I am a big strong guy and it was like 1/4 turn at a time with a 2 foot breaker bar at about 200 lbs of torque!....and the threads are like 2" long!!!( and i used a oxy-acet torch to warm the block!!!!!!!)

then the upper mount was corroded to the block... and three of the six bottom crank case housing bolts had to have the heads cut off in my milling machine, because they were so rusted away you could not get a socket on them!

if everything is clean and newish....it is all easy...but if it is old and was near the salt water enviroment..it could be a nightmare