please HELP!!! NOT SURE WHATS WRONG...

Matt 020906

Seaman Apprentice
I am a newbie to boating, today was my second day on the lake.

Everything was fine when out of nowhere my engine cuts off. I turn around to look at it and the hose that goes from fuel tank to engine was wrapped around the props, cut, and oil was leaking into the lake (the hose is long as hell and there was to much slack). I jumped in to untanlge it from the prop and notices that the pressure ball pump (not sure the real name) was gone and the tube was cut in half.

My dad had another pressure ball pump at home so I tried using that, it got hard but the engine still would not kick on fully.

What could be wrong?

Maybe water got sucked up and the spark plugs are wet?

What do you guys think? I cant be the first moron this happened to.

The engine is brand new, Yamaha 9.9.

Please help, any advice is much appreciated!

Thanks
MAtt

SKGrice

Seaman Apprentice
Re: please HELP!!! NOT SURE WHATS WRONG...

Have you pulled the plugs to check for any water? If you do have water in your fuel system then there are a few products made to "dry" it out. Like stabil..

Matt 020906

Seaman Apprentice

Have you pulled the plugs to check for any water? If you do have water in your fuel system then there are a few products made to "dry" it out. Like stabil..

Thanks for the reply SKG!

I did not open the top or anything. I was going to let it dry overnight, then go back and try in the AM, so you recommend chaning the spark plugs if there was water in there?

Do you think that water got in the where the hose got cut, maybe the enginse was sucking up water?

SKGrice

Seaman Apprentice

I know I would check to see if there was water in my fuel system and check the plugs too. It is better safe than sorry. It could be possible to suck up some water given that your main fuel feed was both cut and under water.

foodfisher

Captain