30HP johnson hard warm start

djp2010

Cadet
Hi im new on here and i am new to outboards. i recently purchased a 1996 30hp Johnson that is on a 18ft flat bottom. Engine runs great and starts right up when cold but after running for 15-20 min.,it is hard to start-i mean like 20-30 pulls. alot of times ill pull the plugs and find no fuel on them-sometimes there is. i went through the carb,rebuilt the fuel pump,new fuel tank,line,bulb. Im real close to giving up, any advice, pointers,secrets would be appreciated. thanks

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner
Re: 30HP johnson hard warm start

What is your method of starting it when its warm?

djp2010

Cadet

Well ill make sure the ball is hard and just start pulling i guess-

jasper60103

Commander

2 things I would try.
Even though it sounds like a fuel issue, I would check spark with a spark tester when it's hard starting.
Also, squirt some fuel mix in the carb when it's hard starting and see if she will turn over for you.

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

Try using the choke as if it was cold and if needed turn the throttle up slightly.

djp2010

Cadet

Im getting good spark when warm and have sprayed fuel mixture into carb and still no go-once in a while it will back fire-after that i have to take a break before i have a heart attack from pulling. I have twisted throttle 1/4,1/2, and wide open-usually after pulling several times(20) at wide open it will fire up.

djp2010

Cadet

I forgot to tell you it just has a primer and no choke-the throttle plate is about 95% closed

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

On a 2 stroke needing to have the throttle wide open for it to start means its most likely flooded. You may have a leaky float needle. The carbs are very easy and cheap to rebuild, so give that a try.

djp2010

Cadet