Submerged Amp

TerryNova

Recruit
Took the boat out last weekend and it was a little too rough for my 16'. Anyways we took on some water and the amp (Marine Memphis Belle) was about 1/2 submerged. I immediately cut power to it when I realized it but it was under water for a good 15 minutes with power.
I pulled it out and opened it up, nothing looks 'damaged' but I'm not an electrical engineer. It does seems to have a decent amount of silicone over most components.
Is there any hope for the amp? or should I just start looking into new ones?

a70eliminator

Captain
Re: Submerged Amp

Electronics are surpisingly forgiving, let it dry out good before you try it, put it in the oven at 150 for an hour, I did that with my camera that was dropped in the tub (don't ask) and the camera still works to this day!

RicMic

Chief Petty Officer

My buddy used his portable radio for a rod holder on the dock, after he fished it back up from the bottom, he took the back off, sprayed it with WD-40 and let it dry in the hot sun and it worked fine ever since. "WD" stands for "water displacement".

seabob4

Lieutenant Commander

I was going to suggests eliminators method, putting it in a low temp oven...

RickJ6956

Petty Officer 1st Class

150 degrees is near the recommended storage & use temperature of many electronic parts.

Best just to let the amp sit open in a warm dry place for a week.

PS94

Petty Officer 1st Class

I've been told dry white rice can act as a dessicant, and draw moisture out of electronics....

hoytvectrix

Petty Officer 2nd Class

dried rice works good for cell phones, but i would probably use the oven technique

seabob4

Lieutenant Commander

What you might be worried about with the use of the oven is breaking down the conformal coating on the circuit boards. All conformal coats have an effective working temp of 250 degrees F, with the better ones at 400 degrees F.

150 will make do just fine...

RicMic

Chief Petty Officer