Starting Problem 1990 4.3L OMC

xdgt03

Seaman Apprentice
Hello

Newbie here but not to forums. And a newbie boat owner. I am pretty familiar with engines and electrical systems on cars but boats are somewhat different with some additional components.

I have done a lot of searching and found somethings that are helpful in diagnosing my problem but none seem exactly the same so maybe someone here has and easy answer.

I have downloaded and reviewed the repair manual too. Thanks to Don S for all that good info.

Here is my problem. I have a 1990 Four Winns 180 with a 4.3L (I believe it is not HO) It will start with the key engaging the starter but it dies within 1 second after releasing the key. If I keep the starter engaged the engine runs and revs but a second after I let the key go it stops.

I checked the fuel pump and it is working fine. There is fuel at the carb.

I checked what I can see of the wires and all appear in good shape. I checked for voltage at the coil with the key in the on position and there is no voltage. I believe there should be voltage at the coil with the key in the on position, correct?

I know the points are very worn but not corroded. Would it even start at all if the points were the problem?

Is there a common problem here that I am not aware of? Might it be a neutral safety problem? I read about some assist solenoid. I traced a white and gray wire from the the poles of the coil to a harness where they change to black and blue and go into some pack mounted to the side of the throttle bracket. What is this. Could that be bad? Is there a test for whatever that is?

Any help you guys can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks much, Scott

a70eliminator

Captain
Re: Starting Problem 1990 4.3L OMC