transom questions

glowpowered

Cadet
I am new to boats and just acquired a 1980 16' blue fin aluminum boat. The motor runs great. The transom on the boat has quite a bit of flex. The plywood looks solid, what worries me is the 1/4" gap at the splash well where it has pulled away. So the question is should I; A) replace transom, B) pull transom back against the splash well and try to reinforce it with some aluminum angle iron? Any other suggestions? Thank You, Luke

S5006491.jpg

S5006492.jpg

S5006494.jpg

S5006493.jpg

S5006495.jpg

chargerboy

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: transom questions

Hi Luke, welcome to the forums! To make sure that your transom does not need replacement, drill a couple of holes in random places, including the center of the bilge, at the bottom. If you get wet, rotten wood shavings coming out, you will need to replace the transom.

If the wood is indeed entirely solid, I would still recommend taking the transom out, and gluing a new piece to the aluminum with 5200, making sure that you coat the plywood thoroughly to prevent rot. Easier said than done, but it pays off to have confidence that you're boat won't sink! :D

glowpowered

Cadet

5200 ?? Sorry, i don't yet know the lingo here.

Also, i started getting the old sealer out and there is some rot along where the splash well attaches. Is it a big job to replace the transom on an aluminum boat? I've seen a lot of threads on fiberglass boat transom replacement, but not on aluminum boats. Any pointers?

chargerboy

Petty Officer 1st Class

Sorry, it's a type of marine adhesive, made by 3M. It comes in a caulking tube, or a small squeeze tube. It is incredible how strong it is, once you glue something with it, it's not coming apart.

Isaacm1986

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Yep that transom needs to be replaced.

glowpowered

Cadet

What do you think about pressure treated 2x12's stacked and glued as apossed to plywood?

chargerboy

Petty Officer 1st Class