Outdrive Choices? Decisons, decisions...

I shredded the gears on my outdrive yesterday. Not my fault!! well, sort of :D

here's the history: i bought my 87 four winns bowrider about a month ago, it had a new motor (5.7 merc), good hull, teak redone etc....for the man-tastic price of $2200. This is my first boat, but my family has had them, and I am a decent mechanic, and while i try to be knowledgeable, I have some gaps in that knowledge. anyway, after fighting the timing and carb issues, i discovered the quadrajet was toast, and for some reason the dist had a V-6 rotor in it....no wonder the timing was jumping around. I should have taken this as a sign, but no...I replaced the rotor and carb (edelbrock 1409) and took her out for a sea trial....and after about 45 seconds of planing, it stripped the gears in the drive. Back home, popped the cover and i no longer have gears, but nice smooth spinning discs. Turns out the boat came with a V6, and guy before me simply threw the 350 in without upgrading the drive.

Sooooo...I guess the main question is...if I upgrade to an Alpha Gen II, what kind of technical challenges will I encounter? Can I use the gimball mount from my "R" drive? Is the output shaft a weird length? Should I just cry myself to sleep?

Thanks in advance.

Eric

fishinpa

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Outdrive Choices? Decisons, decisions...

best to post some engine and drive numbers so someone can look it up and see what exactly you are running .

then you will get some help on finding what you need or what will work !

fish

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Sooooo...I guess the main question is...if I upgrade to an Alpha Gen II, what kind of technical challenges will I encounter? Can I use the gimball mount from my "R" drive? Is the output shaft a weird length? Should I just cry myself to sleep?

To change to a Gen II, will require you to change everything from the flywheel back. Transome shield, exhaust Y, everything but the engine.