Changed My Bearing

JimKW

Petty Officer 1st Class
Well after reading this board, probably a little too much, I decided to change my wheel bearings before making the 400+ mile drive to North Michigan. Mind you I have never done this before. You guys convinced me I could do it and it's not that hard. Well I did one side and it took me most of the day.

First I got the outer bearing and the hub off the spindle pretty easy. But could not figure out how to get the rear seal out of the hub. So I go to Advance Auto with all my old parts and the hub. They said basically just knock it out any way I can and also I should replace the races. Took it back home and beat the crap out of it with a hammer and an old screwdriver. I got the two races and the rear seal out.

I then went to the Delaware Marine to get some more of the grease I already had, but they didn't have the same brand. But their rear seal looked different than the ones at Advance Auto. The guys were really helpful, but were not sure the seals they were selling me were the right size, but the Marine store had ones that looked just like the one I took out. Advance said go back and get those and gave me a refund for the ones I got there. So back to Delaware I go to buy the rear seals, but I kept the bearings I got from advance even though they cost a good bit more than the ones at the Marine store.

I get home and start putting things back together and there is no way in hell that rear race it going to fit in the hub. So I go back to Advance and get a refund for everything I bought there and head back to Delaware to buy everything from them. I get home and it's the same thing no way the race they gave me is going into my hub. So I said heck with it and used the old rear race. I got everything else new and everything is packed good.