go easy.. please..

glendale

Cadet
o.k. i am totally new to boating. i read th info that you need to help me and i am not sure i even know how to get all of it.

my boat is a 1967 dorsett with an iron duke four banger my outdrive is a mercruiser. that i am assuming is the original. i am looking for a little more top end. i think the prop is alum. i keep the r.p.m at about 3800 and it seems pretty slow. i went out and got these numbers off the prop. i hope they help.r.p. 17 a 15 and 48 65450a4. i will do my best to help out with any info i can. i have only owned the boat for a couple of days.

please bear with the new guy...

180shabah

Rear Admiral
Re: go easy.. please..

first - welcome aboard.

inorder to provide any useful suggestion we need more info. "keep the rpm at 3800" and "seems pretty slow" don't help us any. To match the prop to the boat, we need to know what it does at WOT - rpm AND speed(gps if possible). We also need to know the WOT spec for your engine.

Lastly - don't forget you have less than 100hp getting to the prop, so there may not be much to gain with a new prop.

glendale

Cadet

cool i will get that info as soon as i can. i have no gps so it will be a while.. thanks for letting me know what you need though.:)

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner

You've only had the boat 2 days and are already looking for propellers. Why not get the boat sorted out, tuned up, hull cleaned, and ensure that it is making full power before even thinking about props. And so you know -- the best prop is one that allows the engine to rev at or very near the manufacturers recommended wide open throttle rpm which in your case is probably around 4500 RPM with an average load. Speed will be whatever that prop provides.

glendale

Cadet