finaly got pics/ my 84' Conroy X17

BG BOATER

Seaman Apprentice
Re: finaly got pics/ my 84' Conroy X17

Nice boat. Looks like you got one of those fixer uppers like I have. Keep the pics coming. I would like to see how it's going.

myx17

Cadet

I plan on taking pics of everything as I go along. Thank god I have a understanding wife :) Thanks to all that have helped so much already !!!

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

What are your plans for the motor/drive?

myx17

Cadet

As it stands right now I might rebuild the motor and drive. I have a automotive degree, and think I could tackle the job. :) If all else fails I would like to find a 4.3 v6 to put in it with a hydraulic lift instead of this motor and gear setup it has now (which is broke).

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

I just asked because I can see you have an old OMC stringer drive in there which I have heard is difficult and expensive to get parts for. It is also a unique setup so it's not an easy swap for another brand. Not to be a downer but unless this is your ideal hull, you may be better off looking for another boat to restore that has a Mercruiser/Volvo drivetrain.

myx17

Cadet

I found the parts I need to fix the lift on it. One of the local guys found the gears I need and the gaskets. Said he would sell it to me for 200.00 Sounds like a good deal to me, lol

captmello

Captain

Nice little boat, bad sterndrive. I wouldn't put a dime into it.:(

Sorry.

myx17

Cadet

Would it better to just buy a new/used outdrive that will match that engine. It seems to be a pretty common engine at least. Or just get a new engine/ outdrive setup ? Thanks for the advice, please keep it coming.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

A stringer drive is completely different than any other set up so doing a swap would involve some fabrication. I'm an outboard guy though so I don't know the specifics. You may want to throw a post up in the I/O repair section and ask what would be involved with swapping out a stringer drive to a Merc or Volvo.