A couple of questions about Smart Tabs and Boat Performance.

phwrd

Petty Officer 1st Class
1. Please refer to the attached pictures. Is grease coming out of a new steering (Teleflex NFB) normal. This brand new unit has less than 10 total hours on it.

2. I took the boat (19.5 ft v-hull 140 hp Suzuki) out on Thursday, she 25 mph at 4200 rpm in a moderate chop. Took it out on Saturday and it ran 25 mph at 4800 rpm in a light chop. She ran at 19.5 on Saturday at 4200 rpm. I have put the Smart Tabs on it, 60 lb?rs on the 5th hole.

I am new to this, first boat per say. I am not sure if the boat is acting as it should, or not. Don't know if the prop is the correct size or if it may be slipping. I do have an electric trim on the motor.

When I power up, it stands up and then really slowly plane?s out. I use the trim to tilt the motor up until I think I have found the sweet spot but I just don?t know if this is normal or not.

I moved the trim tabs up from the middle but not sure if I know what I am doing with those either. It seems that the tabs are just at the water line when powered up, is this expected?

Thanks in advance for what I hope will be some direction here.

Attachments

• boat steering 1.jpg
    boat steering 1.jpg
    106.6 KB · Views: 0
  • boat steering 2.jpg
    boat steering 2.jpg
    136.9 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

a70eliminator

Captain
Re: A couple of questions.

Re: A couple of questions.

That grease looks water contaminated and dirty, clean it up and you'll find the grease fitting, push the old grease and water out with a grease gun by pumping fresh grease into it, looks like someone has just been messy.

marcortez

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: A couple of questions about Smart Tabs and Boat Performance.

Trim the motor all the way down and the tabs all the way down on out of the hole acceleration.
Once the bow lowers down, raise the tabs and the trim until you find the best running attitude.....which will be a combination of RPM's and MPH.