mercruiser 7.4L popping through carb

7228sedan

Cadet
I have a 1991 mercruiser 7.4 with a recently rebuilt q-jet carb. The motor starts & idles great. When she revs up to around 2200 RPM's; the motor starts loosing power & pops back through the carb. I thought it was a timing issue; I set the timing to 8 btdc "I think" I'm pretty sure that the machined groove in the balancer is the timing mark. It revved up to about 3,000 that time & then started popping again. At least she planed off. I rebuilt the carb myself, it was my 1st time rebuilding a carb. I've done plenty of motors before but this is my 1st carbed engine. I'm an EFI guy by trade. Any ideas?

searay3

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: mercruiser 7.4L popping through carb

It sounds like it's going lean under load. Fuel filters etc new and clean? Float adjustment maybe. Did yu follow all the adjustment specs? Match the gaskets exactly? Might have to go thru the carb again. Make sure the gasket under the carb is correct, tight and sealed.

zbnutcase

Commander

Yup sounds like a carb issue still.

Fireman431

Rear Admiral

Just a thought...why not switch it over to EFI?

xltier

Chief Petty Officer

you should do a compression test.there r other things that r more likely to be causing it.bent pushrod,bad valve,worn camshaft lobe.etc. try holding the choke closed a little to draw more fuel.if it still does it ,its not fuel related.you could have a exhaust valve not opening right.then when the intake valve opens again the compression from the previous stroke pops out.

bomar76

Lieutenant Commander

Not all carb rebuilds are sucessful.
I really doubt you have any of the issues mentioned above.
Why did you rebuild the carb?
Same issues?
Your situation is classic for fuel delivery problems.

Plugged pickup in tank
Bad vent in tank
Bad filter
Filter sucking air (has happened to me)
Poor fuel pump output
Bad carb
Really bad fuel
.....are some of the areas of concern.

littlebookworm

Chief Petty Officer