im shocked at this bass bait

yourkiddin

Petty Officer 1st Class
ok guys im wanting to see if anyone else has ever witnessed this. i have been fishing since i was probably 10 years old. a buddy of mine weeks ago told me that him and his uncle had been fishing a private pond. his uncle had told him he was going to cut up a blue gill to use as bass bait. not catfish but large mouth bass bait. he told him he was crazy. well behold there are some big bass and the uncle was producing them using this method. when i was told this i figured it to be a fish story. well tonight i went to the private pond for the first time with my buddy. he caught probably 8 five pounders and 3 of them came from the head or mid section of a cut up blue gill. the rest from carolina lizards. i am just amazed. never have i seen or would of believed this. i told him they were called bass cats.

MaddysDaddy

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: im shocked at this bass bait

i have caught big bass on live bluegill and pumpkinseed but never cutbait
did you jig it or just let it sit?

yourkiddin

Petty Officer 1st Class

i only caught one on a crank bait and a cat on the cut bait. but he caught his just as you would fishing for cats. on the bottom with a one oz sinker. no jigging. amazing to me. now he told me he had never done this untill his uncle showed him this 2 weeks ago. now he is doing it consistantly.

dingbat

Supreme Mariner

Why are you so surprised? Google "chunking fishing" one time

We do a lot of live lining, free swiming live fish hooked thrugh the nostrails, but we also do a lot of "chunking" (Striped) Bass. Very effective on just about any gamefish

yourkiddin

Petty Officer 1st Class

ive heard of it with stripes but just not a large mouth bass in ponds or a big lake

gonefishie

Commander