volvo penta engine question

jacob callum

Cadet
i have a b20 engine with a 270 leg would like to know if anyone has or knows what diesel engines would fit this leg.
thank you

captmello

Captain
Re: volvo penta engine question

those outdrive were used on many diesels. What are you trying to do?

jacob callum

Cadet

i am new to boating this is my first one and the engine i have is not in good shape so i thought for cost of running it would be better to change it over to diesel.
but saying that if the petrol ones are better then i would stay with that and get another engine as i say i am very new to this and looking for all the help and advise i can get
thank you

captmello

Captain

First you need to identify the engine model. Do you know the AQXXX number for your engine? How about the year? How many carbs?

jacob callum

Cadet

all i know is the b20 bit thats all i can find on the engine and it has 2 carbs

captmello

Captain

B20 refers to the volvo block. Some are more common than others. The B20 is older I believe.

If you can post some pics of the engine from a couple sides we can probably identify what you have. Once we can do that, you can start trying to repower. If you're really interested in going diesel, you should look for a complete drivetrain, not just an engine since your exhaust, outdrive gear ratio, etc., may be wrong. It's usually more practical to replace what is there with the same. Do you even know what year the boat is???

jacob callum

Cadet

ok please do not laugh to much but i know nothing about boats but really wanted to start sea fishing so looked on ebay and brought this one.
ok trying to upload photo's but keeps telling me they are to big do you know how to do this or do you have a email address or something like that i could send them to
thank you

captmello

Captain

The best way to do photos is to upload them to a site like Photobucket.com and then you link the pics to your post. It free and easy.