4.3 mercrusier starts, then immediately dies!!!

ljenks

Seaman Apprentice
Ok guys, I am an ATV mechanic that can't seem to find out what is going on here. Basically, last year the boat (2007 Tahoe 215 w/ 4.3 mercruiser carbureted) ran fine all last year. Winterized the boat. Just went to start for the first time last week & it would start for only a second or two, no more, then immediately shut off. I tried choking, giving it gas & everything & still would only run for 1-2 secs, then shut off.

Finally got it to my shop today & tried diagnosing, but not familiar with it at all (not an ATV)!!!! I started looking at this forum some & found there was alot of talk about maybe an oil pressure switch being bad??? All I have done is disconnected the fuel line at the carb & applied 12vdc directly to the fuel pump to make sure it is working & it did. I have also remove the fuel/water seperator filter & found no water or sediment in it at all. Went ahead & replaced it while I was there.

My oil pressure switch is located at the back of the motor on top. It has only one wire going to it (can't remember the color). Someone told me to disconnect it & jumper it to ground. I tried that & still nothing???

Any ideas & tips would be greatly appreciated!!! Maybe some of you guys have ATV's that I could return the favor with.

Thanks so much
Larry

Bt Doctur

Supreme Mariner
Re: 4.3 mercrusier starts, then immediately dies!!!

That sounds like the oil sender for the gauge, the oil pressure switch is normally down by the oil filter area and has a 2 wire plug.

ljenks

Seaman Apprentice

Ok... Maybe I was looking at something different. What I saw was some type of pressure switch located on the top of the motor, near the distributor sticking straight up with only one wire on it?

How exactly do I go about testing or bypassing this switch to see if it is bad?