my 14 ft starcraft holiday(with a buncha pics)

andymcd75

Cadet
Re: my 14 ft starcraft holiday(w/pics)

thanks for all the encouraging words guys, now some questions for you starcraft experts

the only damage besides a rotten transom is a big ole dent kinda hard to see in this pic
picture.php

i have quite a bit of body work experiance but none working on aluminium so can i use a dolly and hammer to bump this out or is there some other way to do it?

my steering cables are rusty
picture.php

they need replacing anything special about them or can i use the galvinised vinyl covered cabling from home despot?

i have never worked on an outboard before, i can tear apart an old aircooled vw engine in a flash.
picture.php

any of you fine folks from the louisville ky area know of a good outboard mechanic?

and lastly anyone know wth was mounted here with the three rusty bolts
picture.php

bananaboater

Ensign

We all have mystery holes in our transoms. Get that iron out first then you can begin to decide how to proceed, lots of options. Those phillips head screws are not what my Jet has. Simple slotted aluminum truss head screws. Could be yours have already been replaced once.

You are well ahead of me with the VW engine experience. If I have a problem it is off the the wrench man.

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

Those 3 screws could have been for a kicker motor mounting bracket.

I'm clueless on aluminum bodywork

I'd upgrade that steering to the modern single cable type. The steering systems are surprisinly reasonable. Only thing is your motor doesn't appear to have a steering tube so you'd need an adapter. Here's an example of the adapter http://www.nicksoutboardmarine.com/steeringpg6.html (scroll down till you see "#EG-LPK Fresh Water Kit"). It would be ideal if you could find one of those adapters used somewhere.

andymcd75

Cadet