putting a boat back in service

tigershark1

Recruit
I am an L-1 mechanic in the auto industry and i am no marine tech. I have a 1989 Sea ray boat that belongs to my grandfather. This man had more money then he knew what to do with. This boat was purchased when I was a little kid and has seen the lake about 4 times. It has less than 400 hours on it. It has been in a covered and closed garage for many years. I started fixing all of his toys about a year ago. After fixing 3 jet skies, one model A car and several old cars. I have now gotten to the Sea ray boat. So I pulled the engine cover and found that the engine looks brand new. This thing does not have one paint chip missing off of it. Looks like it just got installed. So I started with the basic. I made a least of things to do and need to find out if there is anything else that somebody can recommend. I have new plugs and points, I am rebuilding the crab because one of my uncles has screw it up adjusting the screws and it has set so long, I also will be installing new filters and fuel pump, and purchased a new battery for it. After talking to my grandfather he said my uncles took the boat out and said it kept dyeing on them so they pulled the thermostat out to make it run longer. I don?t get that but I?m not a boat tech. The other thing I was told that if you wot to fast it would fall on its face but if you slowly apply it then it will work fine. I figured it had to do with all the screw being adjusted to god knows what. So before I get to far in and over my head is there anything else that somebody can suggest to do or give advice on what I POSTED.

crazyinkc

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: putting a boat back in service