OMC outdrive question

Quarterhorse306

Recruit
Greetings.....newbie here with a quick question. I have the opportunity to get a boat very cheap. It's an old Renken with an OMC outdrive. The boat is a 1985 so I think it's too old to have a Cobra. I believe they came out in '86? I think the outdrive is called a stringer?....I have no experience with these...
I've only heard horror stories. Does anyone know if those stories are true? Or are the old electric shift ones the bad ones? The boat has been sittting for a few years and I'm sure it needs a bit of work. What are the things I should look for? I understand they have no gimbal bearing like a mercruiser.....are there specific things I should look for? Or should I just run away from this boat? Any info you give me would be greatly appreciated.

Bondo

Staff member
Re: OMC outdrive question

I've only heard horror stories. Does anyone know if those stories are true?

Ayuh,.... It's All True..... Free is Way too high a price....

Gary H NC

Fleet Admiral

Yep! Pass on that deal for sure.
Ebay is about the only place for parts and they are getting hard to find and really expensive.

Howard Sterndrive

Rear Admiral

the issue is cost to repair and maintain
most parts are available as with any 1985 drive brand, but many OMC drive parts typically cost 3X as much as merc parts
One on-again off-again NLA part that can really halt the fun is a shift cable. no one is reproducing them aftermarket and they don't last forever so your days are numbered from the start.
BRP has some in stock now, but they want $650 for one.

cheap boat not so cheap anymore

zbnutcase

Commander

BRP prob gets $650 for it cause they have to pay Volvo for it:D

HT32BSX115

Supreme Mariner

BRP has some in stock now, but they want $650 for one.

$650 for a shift cable? :eek: Is that a misprint?

That's probably more than most of the "very cheap" boats sell for!!

cr2k

Captain

Some guy here really hate the Stringers. Kinda like I hate Force motors.