Should I buy 1998 Bayliner Capri CC?

BamaRed

Recruit
Well, this is my first post on here, so I apologize if I'm not in the right thread. I need some advice, I'm looking at purchasing a 1998 Bayliner Capri Cuddy Cabin model 1952 CN. This will be the first boat I have owned. I've done some boat maintenance before, and in general I'm handy enough to be able to rebuild an '81 Jeep CJ, but boats are a differnet animal. Here's the details of the boat. It is being offered for $3000 and includes a tandem trailer with the self contained hydraulic brakes. The boat has been stored under cover and under a metal awning for the last two and a half years. It has less than 200 hours on the boat as a whole. Due to it sitting, the battery is dead. Also, it had fuel in it while it set. I suspect all the seals will need replacing. I looked at the boat today and for a twelve year old boat, it seemed in good condition, but again, I'm new at this. I poked and pushed at every piece of wooden area on the boat. Only the engine compartment cover appeared to be rotten. I looked under the seats and at every compartment I could get to and the wood appeared solid. The carpet is in near mint condition, but does not appear to have been replaced since it still matches the vinyl. The vinyl has some areas where the threads have pulled apart, and some light mildew stains, but no cracks or tears. The paint on the bottom of the boat is flaking off in a couple of areas. Overall the paint is faded and it could use a good wax job. The engine had no evidence of rust and there were no holes anywhere there shouldn't have been. I pulled on the transom pretty good and it didn't flex, so the hull appears solid. So my question is whether this is a good deal for the price. I fully expect to have to have a mechanic replace the seals. I can probably rebuild the carb and clean out the fueld tank and lines. I expect the engine work to cost up to $500. The plan is to get a starter boat for the family and see how we li