Stuck in drive / forward

svmarcello

Cadet
I took the boat out today for the first time ever and as I was tring to back it off the trailor I put it in reverse and gave it gas and it went forward!! Tried several times and had no luck. I guess it is stuck in gear, and I would love to know how to fix it??? I am not very experiened with outboards but I have some general mechanical skills. Any help would be appriciated. It is a 1988 85hp force outboard and it is stuck in drive. PLease help!! Thanks

huskerdaninva

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Stuck in drive / forward

Seems like you had a lousy day on the water my friend. First thing that comes to my mind, and please note that I am NO expert, is the control cables. You may want to ensure that the cables are in fact connected properly to the motor and they are in fact moving the shift linkage correctly. Perhaps you just need to confirm that your control cables are working and adjust accordingly if not. Also need to check that your shift linkage is connected properly from the powerhead to the lower unit. Once this has been done you can move onto potential mechanical problems/failures. Bottom line, get your hands on a repair manual for your motor. Maybe your local library can help in the interim. Hope this makes sense! Good luck...
Dan

svmarcello

Cadet

Can you explain what the control cables should look like inside the engine? Is the top one the throttle or the shifter cable? Only the top cable was moving when I was moving the shifter from forward to neutral to reverse?? How do I adjust it. I also can barly move the prop since it is in gear??

wickware

Lieutenant

What Year, Motor, HP and Control do you have? I have pics of a 1970, Chrysler, 35 HP linkage in forward, neutral and reverse positions (at the engine and just below related to a Chrysler Control).

JOW

wickware

Lieutenant

Did you see this info in your other post below this one?