? for those who have worked on OMC,Merc,Volvo outdrives

supercab78

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Are the 2000 volvo SX outdrives harder to work on than OMC stringer ( which I had for 20 years) and did the shafts in upper twice"rust", or Merc (3 years) replacd the shaft yoke in the upper? I ask this because I found a boat I like with the Volvo SX and I do all my own repairs and I'm wondering if they are harder to work on. Thanks

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: ? for those who have worked on OMC,Merc,Volvo outdrives

Volvo still exists, OMC went out of buisness over 10 years ago. The drives are much better than the stringers ever were, and you can get replacement parts from Volvo, plus there are techs to work on them.
Unfortunately, I have had to work on OMC stringer drives and they were the most gawd awful things I have ever had to work on.
I'm also a Volvo certified tech and have rebuilt many drives, using the proper special tools.

supercab78

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Don S===do you think the SX is easier to work than a Mercruiser?

Don S

Kind of wierd question, but what do you mean by "Work on". Rebuilding the drive? Taking it off? Changing bellows? Changing gear lube? Changing impellers? (Volvos don't have impellers in the drive). What are you asking about?

Bondo

Staff member

Don S===do you think the SX is easier to work than a Mercruiser?

Ayuh,... They're Vaguely different,...

Most standard service practices are the Same...
It's just they're peculiarities that are Different...

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner

my opinion is the SX is simple,more rugged and eaisier to deal with than the merc.
not that mercs are difficult but the simplistic design of the SX and the durability far surpass the merc.
the draw back can be parts cost.
I have commercial guys that can regularly get 5000 hours out of an SX.

supercab78

Petty Officer 2nd Class