bought a boat blind from someone i knew and....

89villain

Cadet
i found out the motor mount is sitting 1/2" low on drivers side (yes im new to boats). its a 454 in a chapparal villain3 and im not sure where to start.
will a piece of 1/4" plate be a good fix?
drill the holes for the studs coming up and lay the piece of 1/4" plate on the formed fiberglass perch? it looks like a formed fiberglass perch that the mount sits on. 12"x10" perch. there is hardly any wood on this boat besides the engine lid. any help would be appreciated.
thanks,
brian

boat1010

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Re: bought a boat blind from someone i knew and....

We always like to say, " A picture is worth a thousand words" and it would sure be a big help here.

Spinnaker

Petty Officer 1st Class

i found out the motor mount is sitting 1/2" low on drivers side (yes im new to boats). its a 454 in a chapparal villain3 and im not sure where to start.
will a piece of 1/4" plate be a good fix?
drill the holes for the studs coming up and lay the piece of 1/4" plate on the formed fiberglass perch? it looks like a formed fiberglass perch that the mount sits on. 12"x10" perch. there is hardly any wood on this boat besides the engine lid. any help would be appreciated.
thanks,
brian

The big concern is that your alignment is ok. Your engine can be rotated and be fine but having the front up or down too much will mean an alignment issue. You best pull the drive and find an alignment tool. Or at least have that checked by someone. If it is ok then leave it.

89villain

Cadet

the mount is dead center of the motor on the drivers side. i couldnt get enough juice from my car battery to get the drive up so i could bring it home to get some pics.
when i said the motor was sitting a half inch low, i meant more of a lean to one side.
i will get pics tomarrow if i can get it home.
thanks,
brian

Spinnaker

Petty Officer 1st Class