Newbie question

golliday

Cadet
I have done a lot of riding in a boat and having fun and have never owned one until now. Is it a good idea to take the US Coast Guard Auxiliary class for new boat owners? There is one in my area starting Tuesday.

DYLBOSS

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Newbie question

I have done a lot of riding in a boat and having fun and have never owned one until now. Is it a good idea to take the US Coast Guard Auxiliary class for new boat owners? There is one in my area starting Tuesday.

Honestly, I wouldn't launch your boat until you do. It is a requirement in NH to have a license, and I'm glad. I bought my first boat last summer and took it out in big lake water. Glad I studied and took the exam, knew the concepts and safety ahead of time. Had a couple of close calls, but remembered my training. Important to keep your passengers safe most of all! Can be the difference of a great boating day and a very bad one.

golliday

Cadet

Honestly, I wouldn't launch your boat until you do. It is a requirement in NH to have a license, and I'm glad. I bought my first boat last summer and took it out in big lake water. Glad I studied and took the exam, knew the concepts and safety ahead of time. Had a couple of close calls, but remembered my training. Important to keep your passengers safe most of all! Can be the difference of a great boating day and a very bad one.

Thanks Dylboss for the great advice. I have to have a license here in GA as well.

Capt Craig

Cadet

I would like to thank you for being willing to take a class and learn about boating! While not required in many places, it probably should be! Welcome to the world of boating!!

NYBo

Admiral

Not that I have any bias at all (pay no attention to the avatar behind the curtain), my answer would be YES!!!:D

CaptNCamille

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Absolutely!!!!

You dont realize how much you dont know until you take the course.

BTMCB

Senior Chief Petty Officer