1968 9.5 hp Johnson won't stay running.

remy308w

Recruit
I bought a 1968 9.5 HP Johnson outboard a few years back and it's always done great until this past summer. It won't idle for long when I can get it started, on the water it will run with the throttle wide open but only for a few hundred yards before it starts to jerk and cut out. It seems to do better with the hood off and will run if I spray starter fluid into the carburetor every 20 seconds or so . The carburetor seemed to have fuel leaking from it but not from a central location. It looks wet from top to bottom. I bought a Seloc repair manual it helps for repairs and maintenance, but doesn't have a great trouble shooting section. I've cleaned the carburetor, replaced the plugs, wires, fuel pump, water pump, fuel tank, fuel line, and fittings. The plugs fire and the carburetor gets fuel. I have not checked the compression. I'm new to the world of outboards so I hope I gave you enough to go on. Thank you.

ENSIGN

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Re: 1968 9.5 hp Johnson won't stay running.

The first thing to do is throw the starting fluid away,you'll ruin the motor.put some pre-mix in a spray bottle and use that instead.Sounds like you missed something in the carb,soak it overnight in carb cleaner and blow all of the passages out with a air hose.USE CLEAN GAS

ezeke

Supreme Mariner

"on the water it will run with the throttle wide open but only for a few hundred yards before it starts to jerk and cut out"

Multiple possibilities here, but most likely that you are running out of fuel in the float bowl from a stuck float valve needle. When you rebuild your carburetor with a OEM kit, be sure to connect the new needle to the float with the clip.

Attachments

• Float Valve Clip 2.JPG
    Float Valve Clip 2.JPG
    96 KB · Views: 3

remy308w

Recruit

Thanks for the advice! I will get to it as soon as I can. Please keep the advice coming, I need all the help I can get.