Installing a bow thruster need electrical help

Striper Blues

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Guys,
I'm thinking of installing a Lewmar 140TT2.2 electric thruster in my Wellcraft 290 Coastal and I am getting educated on the use of Automatic Charging Relays instead of adding another battery charger with the install of the new thruster battery. Although I have plenty of experience with other electrical items I'm not familar with ACR's or adding additional batteries to an already complex electrical system.

At present I have an Alltech Flyback 10-3 charger with three outputs, two go the motor/house batteries and one to the gen set battery. I need some coaching on what a logical and safe solution looks like whether I do the ACR install or hire a pro to do the whole thing.

I am told by the thruster dealer that I should hook the new battery up using a Blue Sea ACR. But I have a ton of questions about this approach that I can't find answers for on their website. For example...

If I go with an ACR will the charge from my AC charger pass on from the Alltech thru the ACR to the thruster battery when I have shore power attached (it should based on what I've read). If thats the case then I'm good to go as it would charge the thruster battery whether it was coming from the alternator or the Alltech charger.

I am also confused about the charging amps. Some ACRs are 60 others are variable from 60 to 120. We're talking about me charging a 12 volt battery that will be seldom used.

Any insights are greatly appreciated.

Bifflefan

Commander
Re: Installing a bow thruster need electrical help

I say skip the web site and the FAQ's. and call them direct. If they are any kind of company and they are selling you their product then they should be able to talk to you on the phone a time or two.

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner