electrical help

Mike Robinson

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Mother in law had an electrician install the dishwasher and insinkerator in her newly renovated kitchen. The dishwasher wouldn't drain so she called the electrician to come back and check it but he never showed and keeps coming up with excuses not to return.

She called me to see if I could help and I found the problem, there was a knock out plug that had not been removed where the dishwasher drain hooks into the waste disposer. I don't like the way he wired it though, I'm no electrician but I be willing to bet it's not up to code.

The power supply for the waste disposer comes up through the base of the cabinet under the sink so he put a junction box on the floor of the cabinet, right where water could drip and pool!

So my question is what can I do to remedy the hazard? Can I use a "wet location" junction box there or what?

Thanks!

kenmyfam

Supreme Mariner
Re: electrical help

Use something waterproof and shield it as well. If in doubt call another electrician to be certain.
Just my 2 cents. How about a photo ??? it may help.
There may be a lot of folk wanting that electrician to do work for their mother in laws
though !!! LOL

joed

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Fix the water leak so the receptacle stays dry. It is electrically up to code. Water under the sink will cause the cabinets to rot.

a70eliminator

Captain

Provided the insinkerator/dishwasher circuit has a GFI protection.
Sounds like the guy wasn't a much of a plumber either, forgot the ol knockout plug wow didn't it even get a test run.

rbh

Fleet Admiral

Morning Mike-
I just pulled out the canadian elec code book and 22-2000 page 220 says were conductors are exposed to moisture(cat #1 condinsation, dripping or splashing) use a weather tight termination/ splice point.
or just call the electrical inspector monday, by the way did the electrician pull a permit? If he didnt rat his butt out.
I do telecom, so double check.
rob

marlboro180