need help fast....broke only key off in ignition 70 Evinrude

gride830

Cadet
have a 18 foot duracraft(1990) converted to a duck boat....Broke the key clean off in the ignition in the remote throttle unit.....if I had another key, i would just dig it out and be on my way but i dont....Its right in the middle of duck season also....Have no idea what next step i need to take.....im a car mechanic so i would think maybe take out the ignition switch and buy a whole new one with keys...thanks john

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner
Re: need help fast....broke only key off in ignition

This is the non-repair section. Tell us what motor you have and I'll gladly move this thread to the appropriate area.

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner

If it is a brass key, use a soldering gun with a bleb of solder on the tip and let the solder harden on the key and gun tip--then just pull out the key

ddrieck

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Temporarily use a Flat Blade screwdriver to turn the ignition switch. I had to do this in a Ford Probe I had back in the day when i broke of the key while having a little fun with a x-girlfriend..

Than after Duck Season is over, replace the switch in the control center.

gride830

Cadet

its an evinrude 70hp...yeah i can still start and shutoff engine with a screwdriver(had to for the rest of the day) but with one problem...the choke....impossible to get it to turn without engaging choke...its touchy....and the motor floods fast...gonna try and replace whole ignition switch...how much am i looking at?

ezeke

Supreme Mariner
Re: need help fast....broke only key off in ignition 70 Evinrude

OEM ignition switch 0508180 lists for 32.99.

If your key or the switch has a number on it, you can get a replacement key for around $5.

mikesea

Lieutenant Commander