89 Mercury 80 HP Idle (SEE VIDEO)

JGra

Petty Officer 1st Class
I just picked up this mercury 80 HP motor for a boat project I am finishing. I am new to the bigger 2 strokes. The carbs were rebuilt and cleaned. I adjusted the carbs the best I can on the hose. I took a video of the idle and am looking for feedback to see if I am close. I know it might be hard to tell from a video. The motor is a 1989 80 HP 3 CYL Mercury with oil injection.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xyPv7-eDlk

Really Old Guy

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: 89 Mercury 80 HP Idle (SEE VIDEO)

I watched for about 30 seconds. Sounds good,considering it's age and
not in water. Good find!

coolguy147

Commander

why do motors do that? they dont have a consistent idle. putt putt putt putttttt put put pu pu pu putt putt putt.

i have like ocd on these things!

JGra

Petty Officer 1st Class

I had an old merc 200 20 HP tiller and it idled the same way but ran great on top end. These bigger 2 strokes are a bit new to me. Does any one have any ideas of what gauges I can and should install.

JGra

Petty Officer 1st Class