Another "What do you experts think" thread

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner
Re: Another "What do you experts think" thread

RUN AWAY!!! That boat has a Force L drive in it. The seller is trying to call in a Merc. That's about the worst motor you could possibly get.

likalar

Petty Officer 1st Class

I'm no expert at anything, but about that description of the number of people that can be aboard: 10 people on an 18' bowrider is very optimistic, and likely unsafe. And a top end rebuild for $500.00? Mmmmmm!
Larry

superpop

Master Chief Petty Officer

I wouldn't give a squirt of **** for that boat. Force motor that hardly anyone knows how to work on, and it needs a top end, wonder what else it needs. Sounds like the guy is looking for a sucker.

hshift

Seaman Apprentice

When you see the words "easy to fix" in an ad, you can be sure it's NOT, or else the owner would do the fix before selling it.

Philster

Captain

That boat was just barely and legally above the level of 'junk' when new. Properly maintained and loved (and I mean really, really loved), she'd be half decent if the owner loved her so much that he knew her intimately, and could work on her endlessly, going to the ends of the earth to keep 'er running. Most of the time, it'd be futile, but he would extract just enough in return to wake up another day thinking he should keep 'er.

For everyone else? RUN.

Bigprairie1

Commander

FarmerSid, as a fellow Canadian, welcome to Iboats. :)
As for that boat tho'....leave it behind. As the guys mentioned it is the dreaded 'L-drive'. This drive was a short lived experiment in couple a 2 stroke outboard head to a weird vertical drive leg thingy. It didn't last long....or at all really and parts are very, very hard to come by for it.:eek: