Beginner upholstery question

ax1lla

Seaman
Hi all,

First time boat owner and first time posting on iboats. The forums have been a great way to learn some of the basics.

I've been searching posts pertaining to upholstery and there is A LOT of good stuff out there. The best thread I've seen thus far (for an absolute beginner like me) has been:
http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=347724&highlight=upholstery

Step by step process with pics. Can't beat that!

Anyway, I still have some VERY basic questions for those of you who have done some upholstery work.

Note: I have a 1974 Sterncraft (16ft) with a 115 HP Merc. It's a trihull.

1. Can you use regular plywood? Or should you ONLY use marine plywood? Keep in mind I don't want to sink money into this thing. I only paid $400 for it and it runs great. I just need to make the interior look nicer. So, if regular plywood will last 10+ years, that is good for me.

2. I see a lot about sewing and needles etc. Is this always needed? I was simply planning on stapling it.

3. If you look at the link posted above, one of the steps shows using a starter strip to put down for the colored stripe. Anyone have any other ideas on something I could use for that piece that would work just as well?

4. Is there a specific type of foam you have to get?

5. Some people have suggested putting a clear plastic piece down over the foam. Sounds loke a good idea.....any comments?

I hope this is a project a beginner like me can handle. I've never done anything like this. Right now I'm going to just concentrate on the bow and the two runner pieces on each side of the boat. I also have two seats in the back, but am trying to think of doing something else back there so that i can fit three people instead (maybe a bench).

Anyway, thanks for any help in advance!

Corey

xxxflhrci

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Beginner upholstery question