Mercruiser 4.3 V6

ChrisCraftJohnny

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I am new to iboats and I have to say that I've learned much from all the great topics on the site.

I have a 1988 21' Chris Craft Scorpion with a Mercruiser 4.3 V6 / Alpha one outdrive.

I will make the first question an easy one.

What was the original ignition coil installed in this engine?

Thunderbolt IV, with a Prestolite Distributor.

Previous owner installed a Accell Super Coil in it's place. I don't want a automotive coil on the boat. And want to get this set-up back to original.

I will have more questions soon.

Thanks a ton!

Johnny

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Mercruiser 4.3 V6

I'm not really sure what you are asking, but the distributor for Mercruiser in that era was a Thunderbolt distributor. NOT Prestolite.
If you have the OEM distributor, then just head off to your local Mercruiser dealer with your engine SN and get the right coil.
It should be PN 805570A2
If you want to order it, here is one place. Just type in the number above.

Now, if the previous owner replaced the distributor as well as the coil. Then you will need a lot more to get things back to normal.

If you go up to the Adults Only sticky at the top of this forum, you can download a manual with pictures and details of the system.

ChrisCraftJohnny

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Don,

I could be wrong about the distributor being a prestolite. All I know right now its that the distributor cap has a 4 screw design.

Thanks for the info.

Don S

All I know right now its that the distributor cap has a 4 screw design.

That is the standard Mercruiser Thunderbolt distributor. Used for many, many years. Still in use.

ChrisCraftJohnny

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Don,

Thanks for the info. I am glad to know that this is the orginal distributor.