Does a dinged up prop really perform this bad?

kwerdal

Cadet
Hi everyone I am fairly new to the boating world I have a 1989 Gemini Bass boat 200DCX with a Raker 14.25 x 26 p (20 foor with a 89 Johnson 200GT) when i got the boat the prop only had a few nicks and would run 54 mph on the speedo tack was broken. I messed up and got into the bottom a week later and the are some large nicks but no chunks missing the boat would only run 45 at 5900 WOT after that does it really make that big a difference? the RPM almost seem higher then before the damage but I cannot prove that.

I bought a Raker 14.25 x 20 to try but after doing some reading this may raise my RPM higher then I want it I plan to test it easy so I don't hurt the motor.

Kevin

crxess

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Does a dinged up prop really perform this bad?

Sounds like you have a center hub starting to slip from the impact. Less speed but More RPM's
You really need a tach more than the speedo. helps to keep track of operating condition and troubleshoot things.

Send the prop to be rebuilt and use the 20p gingerly until it gets back. You can keep the 20p for a backup or replace it later with a higher pitch.

And while dings effect performance a bit, changes to the blade angles from impacts does a lot more.

kwerdal

Cadet

Sounds like you have a center hub starting to slip from the impact. Less speed but More RPM's
You really need a tach more than the speedo. helps to keep track of operating condition and troubleshoot things.

Send the prop to be rebuilt and use the 20p gingerly until it gets back. You can keep the 20p for a backup or replace it later with a higher pitch.

And while dings effect performance a bit, changes to the blade angles from impacts does a lot more.