77 Evinrude 15HP dying after working fine, then idles, and works, and dies again.

So, I have a 77 Evinrude 15HP and it works fine every time I take it out and every time it will just cut of all of the way or go straight to idle anywhere from roughly 5 - 20 minutes into my trip. Sometimes I can't get it to go back in gear for a while and sometimes it goes fine again but will eventually die. I cleaned the carb and replaced the fuel. I am a helicopter mechanic with little experience on boats. I want to learn, have a manul and think I could fix whatever is wrong but I am kinda lost at this point. Thanks

Rick.

Captain
Re: 77 Evinrude 15HP dying after working fine, then idles, and works, and dies again.

Assuming you did a good job on the carb. I'm wondering if you are opening the vent on the tank. The fuel pump creates suction (negative pressure) in the tank so it needs to be able to suck air into the tank or eventually the pump can't suck anymore. Could be other stuff but lets start with the easy things first. Best of luck. Rick.

Edit: If your keen to learn here is a site that is packed full of good information on the 9.9 and 15's (they are almost identical) and a site that will show you a parts break down of your engine.
http://www.sschapterpsa.com/ramblings/OMC/OMC info.htm

http://shop2.evinrude.com/ext/index.aspx?s1=5887005b165661c6c5ab7ba925badfcf

jay mendoza

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: 77 Evinrude 15HP dying after working fine, then idles, and works, and dies again.

Open the tank cap 1/4 turn so it's venting. Next, if it starts to die again, give the fuel bulb a squeeze or two and see if that makes it pick back up. On engines as old as yours, the pump diaphragms shrink and dry out making the pump output sporadic, especially at low RPMs. If it takes squeezing the fuel bulb to keep it running, get a fuel pump rebuild kit and overhaul the pump.