Trailer too stiff for boat

boat58

Cadet
Hello, I have a Trail master custom trailer with 8" tire/wheel and a 1972 14' SeaNymph aluminum row boat with a 5 1/5 hp outboard. The boat, engine, full tank of gas, weigh about 180 lbs.

The trailer really bounces hard/stiff and it feels like the outboard will snap off, I drive between 55-60 no faster and i take back roads, no freeway driving.

The trailer has 2 leaf springs, and I was wondering if it would be OK to take the bottom small leaf out, or will it bounce even more? thanks

H20Rat

Vice Admiral
Re: Trailer too stiff for boat

drop the air in your tires some. not exactly recommended for long distances, but for slower speeds with a really light load it won't be a problem. the psi on the side is the max psi allowable for the rated tire load capacity, it is fine to use lower pressure for a lighter load.

NYBo

Admiral

I would also remove the outboard when trailering. Shouldn't be too much of a problem with a motor that small.

boat58

Cadet

Tire pressure is @ 60 psi, is it OK to go down to 40 psi and see how the trailer travels or is that too low ?

Shizzy

Ensign

I have the same issue with my little tinny.

I wouldnt go from the 60PSI down to 40 right away. try dropping it in small increments.

5PSI made all the difference in mine.

BTW, if im taking a longer trip then my usual 10 minutes down the road I air them up to the recomended and just pack more gear in to the boat.

boat58

Cadet

Thanks for all the good info, i'll give the lower air pressure a try and see what happens, thanks again.

55Crestliner

Petty Officer 2nd Class