Grady white soft floor

buddyp

Seaman
Looking to buy a 1988 grady white 19 tournment dual console..great lookin spotless boat.BUT...the floor is soft..drivers seat pulls back several inches with minimum effort and rest of floor is a little spongie...what does this repair cost?

boatflipper

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Grady white soft floor

First of all, pics would be great becasue we like to see what you are dealing with:D
Next, are you looking to do this yourself, or taking it somewhere and have the floor redone? If you are asking about a price estimate for someone else doing it, I have no idea! If you are going to do it your self you may need to dig a little deeper to determine the cost of it. Once you pull the floor up, you will need to check the stringers and transom which normally go with the floor. If the stringers and floor are solid, cost and time will be drastically reduced. So, lets be optimistic and say all you need to do is the floor. In my opinion (mind you I am no expert by ANY means) I would say the project would cost you about $500 tops.
Good luck and try and get some pics!

Last edited:

.BUT...the floor is soft..

It's just about a guarantee there's more going on than just a soft deck. Almost certainly there will be wet/rotted stringers as well, and more than likely the transom also, especially considering the extent of wet/rotted deck that you describe.

I'm currently working on restoring a '79 Checkmate - the previous owner swore up and down the only thing wrong was a soft spot in the forward deck, just replace that little bit of plywood and she'd be fine. Yeah, right - at least I had a pretty good idea what I was getting into and bought it as a project boat. EVERY piece of wood was soaked, as was the flotation foam.