i cant get the pistons back in the bores

Fireman431

Rear Admiral
Re: i cant get the pistons back in the bores

Don't use a broken piece of ring to clean the ring grooves. Get a ring groove cleaner. They're not that expensive and they get all of that hidden residue out of the groove. If all of the parts are correct, that's the main thing that will keep them from going back together.

Apollo75

Petty Officer 1st Class

Hello;

I was a mechanic for many years. I usually buy oversized rings and set my own gaps so they are usually a tight fit in the bores.

Just look at the ring compressor around the piston and it should be tight up against the piston at the smaller tapered end and that end should be just lower than the oil rings so they will be fully compressed. If the ring compressor is not tight against the piston or you can see any part of the ring under it, you are not compressing the rings enough. If this is the case -- and you cannot get the ring compressor any tighter then there may be an issue with the ring end gaps, stubborn oil control rings, or some left over crud in the ring groves. Wrong rings not tapered may be an issue with some piston as some piston ring groves are tapered --- some ring manufacturers use tapered rings or barrel shaped rings.

"Ductile iron top ring is barrel shaped for improved sealing while the iron second ring is tapered to deliver increased oil control."

From "Sealed Power Cast Piston Rings"

When using the wooden part of the handle the piston should slide in snug with every tap --- on used pistons and new rings you should be able to just use the handle to slide them in without tapping on the piston tops.

1. Oil everything with engine oil --- inside of bore, piston and rings, inside of ring compressor.

2. They should just slide in with a hard push.