'76 OMC Ford 302 V8 Won't Shift From Neutral

REPTAR

Recruit
Hey. I'm new to boat ownership and this is my first post on the site. Here's the deal: This boat was given to us last winter by a friend after he parked this one for about 11 years. Before parking it, he had the motor rebuilt...don't know about the outdrive. Mechanically, the boat looks great. We had it in the shop once or twice and everything was double-checked and OK'd. We've taken it out maybe 6 or 7 times this summer without an issue...mechanically speaking...until this past weekend. While running at WOT, the boat suddenly shifted into neutral. After not being able to get it into gear, we got towed in so we could avoid damaging anything else. We ran the boat at home and the same thing is happening (no "clunk" or prop movement when shifted into either forward or reverse). I am hoping the problem is something with the shifter up at the helm or a wiring issue and not something wrong with the outdrive. Any ideas or tests I could run?

Thanks, Matt

P.S. There haven't been any grinding or "ugly" sounds, even when this happened on the lake, if that helps at all.

WizeOne

Commander
Re: '76 OMC Ford 302 V8 Won't Shift From Neutral

Most likely? Stripped water pump shaft in the upper gear case. As that shaft turns 24/7, the water pump would quit pump pumping as well and the motor would soon start to overheat.

Another possibiliy would be the fine spline coupler and drive shaft. I would have hoped if they had the motor out they would have checked that before reinstalling, but did they? You could crank the engine and see if the ball gears turn. If not, there is you problem.

There are electrical test to confirm that you are sending juice down to the outdrive but you'd need the manual for that info.

REPTAR

Recruit