Docking Twin Engine Boat

I am a brand new boat owner and decided to jump in head first with getting a 34-foot twin i/o engine boat. As a rookie, I am doing a lot of research into learning how to dock the boat. I am sure this question has been beat to death, but I was looking for some more insight. Every place I look at recommends just using throttles to bring the boat in and not touching the wheel. With a boat that has an i/o where the outboards rotate while turning the wheel and not a rudder, wouldn't it be easier to use the wheel the majority of the time to maneuver the boat and just use the throttles to assist in rotating the boat "on a dime" when necessary?
Thanks for the thoughts.

dkorzun21

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Docking Twin Engine Boat

Im really not sure im a new boat owner myself but I found that youtube is very helpful with alot of good videos for newbie and how things work / operate found it alot easier seeing it then having someone try and explain it.

Jonathan3206

Seaman

Me as a new boat owner but been on boats all my life.

I personally get to the dock with just a touch of gas to keep her moving and use the wheel. Once I get close I kill the gas and use wheel only. Then if needed I will give gas (forward or reverse).

CaptNCamille

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Actually, my first thought is did you take a boating safety course. If not, I suggest you do so.

Go to USPS.org for a course near you.

It is invaluable for what you need to know about boating.

bustermin

Banned

Every place I look at recommends just using throttles to bring the boat in and not touching the wheel.